Welcome to Shô-Dan

Order Online Reserve Online Call Now

Once upon a time, there was a couple in love who always went to the same restaurant to eat their favourite food in the world: sushi. Their passion was such that they wanted to open their own sushi restaurant and have the best people in the world prepare and serve those pretty pieces of fish that they had loved for so many years. And that's how Sho-Dan came into the world in the summer of 1998, followed, four years later, by another love child.

This true story is that of Madonna Bailey and Eric Payne, who were regulars at the Mikado Restaurant on Saint Denis Street. The couple went one to three times a week, and, over time, formed ties with some of the employees, whose talent and knowledge they admired.

One day, Madonna asked Chinh, one of the Mikado's sushi chefs who had become a friend, to form a team for a new restaurant. Because she spent between $7,000 and $8,000 a year on sushi, Madonna said to herself, "Why not form a partnership with people who know the restaurant business and invest in a restaurant that would serve my favourite food?" Intrigued by Madonna's proposal, Chinh, alias Romeo (the name of a sushi he had invented), talked to four of his colleagues: a waitress and three sushi chefs. All were excited about the project: they were young and wanted to take up this stimulating challenge - and, most of all, they wanted to work for themselves.

Madonna, who worked in the financial district in Downtown Montreal, began to look for the ideal space to bring her project - now also the project of six other people - to life. The "group of seven" wanted their future restaurant to be in a busy area in the heart of the action, so that they could be open at noon and in the evening. "For the fish to be fresh," Kim, assistant manager at Sho-Dan, says, "things have to move. Without people, things don't move." So, when Madonna saw the "For Rent" sign on a building belonging to Standard Life at 2020 Metcalfe, the address seemed perfect...or almost: it took a year and a half to work before the housewarming party could take place!

The new lessees asked two friends - an architect and a designer - to reconstruct and redecorate the space on Metcalfe Street, which had previously been a Mexican restaurant-bar. It was a radical change, so much so that when the previous lessees came into Sho-Dan, they didn't recognize their old place and thought they'd gone to the wrong address! The ambience, featuring eggshell and café-au-lait tones, was elegant and inviting. The addition of columns and a mezzanine provided greater intimacy to the space, which had very high ceilings and huge windows. And the tables with tablecloths and upholstered chairs provided beauty and comfort. Sho-Dan was ready to receive its customers! next page...


Details & Features

Type: Japanese, Sushi, Desserts, Asian, Fusion, Wine
Features: Casual Dining, Extensive Wine List, Full Dinner Menu, Group Functions, Daily Specials, Hotel(s) Nearby, Lunch, Private Dining, Celebrity Spot, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown, Ville-Marie
Payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Interac
Price Range: $$$$ » Moderate (Between $10 to $20)
Atmosphere: Trendy
Attire: Dressy Casual

Operating Hours

Hours may change during holidays or special occasions. Please contact the establishment for specific information.

Monday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Wednesday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Thursday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: CLOSED

Bienvenue à Shô-Dan

Il était une fois un couple d'amoureux qui allaient toujours au même restaurant pour manger ce qu'ils aimaient le plus au monde: des sushis. Leur passion était telle qu'ils voulurent avoir leur propre restaurant de sushis en s'entourant de la meilleure équipe, c'est-à-dire celle qui leur préparait et leur servait ces jolis morceaux de poisson tant aimés depuis tant d'années. Et c'est ainsi que Sho-dan vint au monde à l'été 1998, suivi, quatre ans plus tard, d'un deuxième rejeton.

Cette histoire vrai est celle de Madonna Bailey et d'Eric Payne, qui fréquentaient assidûment le restaurant Mikado de la rue Saint-Denis pour y savourer leur mets favori. Le couple s'y rendait de une à trois par semaine et, au fil du temps, tissa des liens avec quelques-uns des employés de l'endroit, tout en admirant leur talent et leur savoir-faire.

Un jour, Madonna prit l'initiative de proposer à Chinh, un des chefs sushi du Mikado qu'elle aimait bien, de se constituer une équipe dans le but d'ouvrir un nouveau restaurant. Elle qui pouvait dépenser de sept à huit mille dollars par année en sushis s'est dit: "Pourquoi ne pas m'associer à des gens qui connaissent la restauration et investir dans un restaurant qui servirait ce dont je raffole?" Enchanté par la proposition de Madonna, Chinh, alia Roméo (nom d'un sushi qu'il a créé), consulta quatre de ses collègues, une serveuse et trois chefs sushi. Tous furent emballés par le projet: ils étaient jeunes, ils avaient envie de relever ce défi stimulant et, surtout, de travailler à leur compte.

Madonna, qui oeuvrait dans le milieu financier au centre-ville de Montréal, se mit donc à la recherche de l'espace idéal pour réaliser son projet, devenu celui de six autres personnes. Le "groupe des Sept" voulait que son futur restaurant se trouve au coeur de l'action, dans un milieu très achalandé afin d'ouvrir midi et soir. "Pour qu'un poisson reste frais, il faut que ça roule. Pas de monde, pas de roulement.", me précise Kim, directrice-adjointe chez Sho-Dan. C'est alors que Madonnna remarqua l'affiche À Louer sur un immeuble appartenant à la Standard Life, situé au 2020, rue Metcalfe. L'adressse s'avéra parfaite...enfin presque: il y a fallu un an et demi de gros travaux avant de pouvoir prendre la crémaillère!

Les nouveaux locataires ont fait appel à un ami architecte et à un ami designer pour tout reconstruire et tout redécorer le local de la rue Metcalfe, qui avait été habité auparavant par un resto-bar mexicain. Le changement a été radical, au point où, lorsque les anciens locataires entrés au Sho-Dan, ils n'ont pas reconnu leur resto-bar d'antan, et pensaient même s'être trompés d'adresse! L'environment aux tons coquille d'oeuf et café au lait a était plus noble et plus invitant que jamais. L'ajout de colonnes et d'une mezzanine conférait une plus grande intimité à ce lieu doté de plafonds très hauts et de fenêtres immenses. On apprécia également la beauté et le confort de l'ameublement fait de tables nappées et de fauteuils rembourrés. Sho-Dan était prêt à recevoir sa clientèle. suite...


Renseignements

Type : Japonaise, Sushi, Desserts, Asiatique, Fusion, Vin
Particularités : Cuisine Décontractée, Grande Liste des Vins, Menu Complet, Réunions de Groupe, Spéciaux du Jour, Hôtel(s) à Proximité, Lunch, Réunions Privées, Célébrité, Accessible aux Fauteuils Roulants
Quartier : Centre-Ville, Ville-Marie
Paiement : Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Interac
Prix : $$$$ » Modéré (Entre $10 à $20)
Atmosphère : Branché
Tenue : Habillée Décontracté

Heures d'ouverture

Les heures peuvent changer pendant les vacances ou des occasions spéciales. Contactez-nous pour des informations spécifiques.

Lundi : 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Mardi : 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Mercredi : 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 10:30pm
Jeudi : 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Vendredi : 11:30am - 2:30pm; 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Samedi : 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Dimanche : FERMÉ